WSC Students Receive Faculty Awards

Westminster students Josh Maloney, Gavin Poe and Peter Vos have been awarded this year’s Samuel and Anne Van Til Student Scholarship Prize for major papers written during their efforts in this academic year. Ryan Miller was awarded the Arthur Forest Wells Memorial Award, which is given to a senior M.Div. student with “the highest standards of scholarship” who is hoping to pursue ministry in a Presbyterian or Reformed denomination. 

The Arthur Forest Wells award was established in 1980 in memory of the Rev. Arthur Forest Wells, a Presbyterian minister in St. Louis and Baltimore. Each year a graduate receives this awarded for the purchase of books for his professional theological library.

The Van Til scholarship was instituted by the children of Mr. and Mrs. Samuel Van Til to honor their parents’ love for the Reformed faith and its witness to the world through Westminster Seminary California. The fund was established in 1994 through an estate bequest of Mr. and Mrs. Van Til.

The prize is used to encourage exemplary Reformed scholarship. One prize is awarded each year for the best major paper (15-20 pages) submitted in each of the Seminary’s departments: Biblical Studies, Theological Studies, and Practical Theology. The faculty, through a process coordinated by the Academic Dean, selects the recipients.

The awards were formally announced at the 2022 Westminster Seminary Commencement Ceremony.